Bob Babbitt
Thom Bell
Carla Benson
Evette Benton
Jean Carne
George Clinton
Charles Collins
T. Conway
Carolyn Crawford
Lamont Dozier
Bobby Eli
Jimmy Ellis
The Funk Brothers
Major Harris
William "Poogie" Hart
  of the Delfonics

Carl Helm
Rikki Hicks
Eddie Holland, Jr.
Joe Hunter
Phil Hurtt
Darryl Johnson, Sr.
The Velvelettes
Robert Jones
Uriel Jones
Gene Leone
Barbara Mason
Clay McMurray
Ted Mills of Blue Magic
Ray Monette
Vince Montana, Jr.
Philly Degrees
Freda Payne
Bunny Sigler
Kathy Sledge
Bobby Taylor
Russell Thompkins, Jr.
Nathaniel "Crocket" Wilkie
Jimmy Williams
Eddie Willis
Spider Webb
Kim Weston
Treaty Womack
Ali "Ollie" Woodson
Scroll Up
Drag to Scroll Up/Down
Scroll Down


Unsung heroes of Philadelphia’s 70s soul explosion, MFSB is the Philadelphia equivalent of Motown’s renowned Funk Brothers. Gathered together under the production umbrella of Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, MFSB was the “house band” for Philadelphia International Records and Sigma Sound Studios. The group performed rhythm tracks for acts like The O’Jays, Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes, The Spinners and The Stylistics. In 1974, they were thrust briefly into the spotlight with their own release “TSOP” (The Sound Of Philadelphia). Most are familiar with the instrumental as the theme to the popular hit show ‘Soul Train.’ Original members included Norman Harris and Bobby Eli (guitar), Earl Young (drums), Ronnie Baker (bass), Larry Washington (percussion) and Vince Montana (vibes).